arrow_downward
arrow_upward

About Reclaiming Places

attach_file 01.05-03.07.21

Reclaiming Places

camera_alt 01.05-03.07.21

Ideas to Postpone the End of the World

notifications 23.06.21, 18:00

About A Common Breath

attach_file 10.03-03.04.21

A Common Breath. On-site

camera_alt 10.03-03.04.21

Part I: Foreground

videocam 10.03.21, 19:00

Part II: Territories

videocam 17.03.21, 19:00

Part III : Resistance

videocam 24.03.21, 19:00

Part IV: A Possible Toolkit

videocam 31.03.21, 19:30

Ideas to Postpone the End of the World

Reading Group with Sofia Caesar

23.06.21, 18:00

Ideas to Postpone the End of the World is an adaptation of a conference held in Portugal in 2019 by Ailton Krenak. In this text, renowned Brazilian Indigenous activist and leader demonstrates that our current environmental crisis is rooted in society’s flawed concept of “humanity” — that human beings are superior to other forms of nature and are justified in exploiting it as we please. Indigenous peoples have faced the end of the world before. Now, humankind is on a collective march towards the abyss. To stop environmental disaster, Krenak argues that we must reject the homogenising effect of this perspective and embrace a new form of “dreaming” that allows us to regain our place within nature.

Original text in portuguese was translated in English by Anthony Doyle and published by Anansi International in 2020.

Biographies

Sofia Caesar (1989, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) is a visual artist working with video, performance, and sculpture. Rooted in dance practices and somatic therapies, Sofia Caesar’s work evokes physical states between activity and passivity, labour and rest, movement and pause. Acknowledging the intimate effects of technology on our bodies and minds, as well as the physical demands of productivity, her installations often summon stillness, slowness, and repose. Her exhibitions and collaborations include projects at the Moscow Biennial (RUS), M HKA (BE), SFMOMA (USA), A Tale of a Tub (NL), Tomie Ohtake Institute (BR), ISELP (BE), Contour Biennial (BE), Beursschouwburg (BE), CAVEAT/Jubilee (BE) amongst other organisations in Belgium and the world. In 2018 Caesar was honoured the Prize Rumos Itaú Cultural (BR). She works as a Phd Candidate and teacher at LUCA School Arts in Brussels where she lives.

Ailton Krenak
(1953, Minas Gerais, Brazil) is a Brazilian writer, journalist, philosopher and indigenous movement leader of Krenak ethnicity. He is a key actor in the indigenous struggles in Brazil, who had indigenous territorial rights recognised in the 1988 Constitution. He first worked as a journalist and developed his commitment and the fight for the recognition of these populations and their "right to the Earth". From 2003 to 2010, he was special assistant for indigenous affairs to the governor of Minas Gerais. In 2015, he received the Order of Cultural Merit and the following year an honorary doctorate from the Federal University of Juiz de Fora, where he teaches indigenous cultures. As a writer, he has published A vida não é útil (Life is Hardly Useful) (2020), Tomorrow is not for sale (2020) and Ideas to postpone the end of the world (2019).

The reading and discussion will be held in english
Free access upon registration

Register here

More information: info@la-loge.be

arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Reclaiming Places

camera_alt 01.05-03.07.21

Ideas to Postpone the End of the World

notifications 23.06.21, 18:00

A Common Breath. On-site

camera_alt 10.03-03.04.21

Partie I: Foreground

videocam 10.03.21, 19:00

Partie II: Territories

videocam 17.03.21, 19:00

Partie III : Resistance

videocam 24.03.21, 19:00

Partie IV: A Possible Toolkit

videocam 31.03.21, 19:30

Ideas to Postpone the End of the World

Lecture collective avec Sofia Caesar

23.06.21, 18:00

Idées pour retarder la fin du monde est l'adaptation textuelle d'une conférence tenue au Portugal en 2019 par Ailton Krenak. Dans ce texte, le célèbre activiste et leader indigène brésilien démontre que l'actuelle crise environnementale trouve son origine dans le concept erroné d'"humanité" de la société - selon lequel les êtres humains sont supérieurs aux autres formes de la nature et justifie l'exploitation. Les peuples indigènes ont déjà été confrontés à la fin du monde. Aujourd'hui, l'humanité fonce collectivement vers la catastrophe. Pour mettre fin au désastre environnemental, Krenak soutient que nous devons rejeter l'homogénéisation de cette perspective et adopter une nouvelle forme de "rêve" pour retrouver notre place au sein de la nature.

Texte original en portuguais traduit en anglais par Anthony Doyle et publié par Anansi International en 2020.

Biographies

Sofia Caesar (1989, Rio de Janeiro, Brésil) est une artiste visuelle qui travaille avec la vidéo, la performance et la sculpture. Marqué par les pratiques de la danse et des thérapies somatiques, le travail de Sofia Caesar évoque des états physiques entre activité et passivité, travail et repos, mouvement et relâche. Reconnaissant les effets intimes de la technologie sur nos corps et nos esprits, ainsi que les exigences physiques de la productivité, ses installations évoquent souvent l'immobilité, la lenteur et le repos. Ses expositions et collaborations incluent des projets à la Biennale de Moscou (RUS), au M HKA (BE), au SFMOMA (USA), à A Tale of a Tub (NL), à l'Institut Tomie Ohtake (BR), à ISELP (BE), à la Biennale de Contour (BE), au Beursschouwburg (BE), à CAVEAT/Jubilee (BE), parmi d'autres organisations en Belgique et dans le monde. En 2018, Caesar a reçu le prix Rumos Itaú Cultural (BR). Elle travaille comme doctorante et enseignante à la LUCA School Arts à Bruxelles où elle vit.

Ailton Krenak (1953, Minas Gerais, Brésil) est un écrivain, journaliste, philosophe et leader du mouvement indigène brésilien de l’ethnie krenak. C’est un acteur clé des luttes indigènes au Brésil, qui a fait reconnaître les droits territoriaux indigènes dans la Constitution de 1988. En tant que journaliste, il a développé son engagement et la lutte pour la reconnaissance de ces populations et leur "droit à la Terre". De 2003 à 2010, il a été assistant spécial pour les affaires indigènes auprès du gouverneur du Minas Gerais. En 2015, il reçoit l'Ordre du mérite culturel et l'année suivante un doctorat honorifique de l'Université fédérale de Juiz de Fora, où il enseigne les cultures indigènes. En tant qu'écrivain, il a publié A vida não é útil (La vie n'est guère utile) (2020), Demain n'est pas à vendre (2020) et Idées pour retarder la fin du monde (2019).

La lecture et la discussion seront en anglais
Accès libre sur réservation