arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Part IV: A Possible Toolkit

ONLINE EVENT
LIVE STREAMED ON THIS PAGE

PROGRAMME

31.03.21, 19:00

Lecture Performance by Ama Josephine Budge, followed by a discussion between Ama Josephine Budge and Régine Debatty.

The last chapter of A Common Breath offers a discursive space for collective thinking in order to imagine a diversity of narratives and scenarios of transition. Which critical tools and alternative ways of thinking can we use to create new bridges between climate justice, decolonisation, and ecology? This last installment is deliberately speculative, weaving together philosophical, scientific, anthropological, political, activist, sociological, and artistic methods in an attempt to surpass normative Western knowledge. Ama Josephine Budge’s lecture-performance explores the concepts of “de”volution, Blackness, Queerness and issues of climate change. This presentation will be followed by a conversation with Régine Debatty.

Biographies

Ama Josephine Budge is a speculative writer, artist, curator and pleasure activist whose praxis navigates intimate explorations of race, art, ecology, and feminism, working to activate movements that catalyse human rights, environmental evolutions, and troublesomely queered identities. Ama is the recipient of the 2020 Local, International and Planetary Fictions Fellowship with Curatorial Frame, Helsinki (FI) and EVA International, Limerick (IE), and will be researching the topic Pleasurable Ecologies – Formations of Care: Curation as Future-building. Ama is also a member of Queer Ecologies 2020, initiator of the Apocalypse Reading Room project, a recipient of 2020 Bernie Grant Micro commission funding and Lead Artist on the MycoLective project with Chisenhale Studios and Feral Practice.

Régine Debatty is a writer, curator, and critic. In 2004 she created we-make-money-not-art.com, a blog dedicated to writings which explore social issues, science, technology, and art. The platform received 2 Webby awards and recently received an honorary mention at the START Prize. Régine writes and lectures internationally about the way in which artists, hackers, and designers use technology as a medium for critical discussion. She also created A.I.L. (Artists in Laboratories), a weekly radio program about the collaborations between art and science for Resonance104.4fm in London (2012–14), and is the co-author of the sprint book New Art/Science Affinities, published by Carnegie Mellon University.

arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Reclaiming Places

camera_alt 01.05-03.07.21

Ideas to Postpone the End of the World

notifications 23.06.21, 18:00

A Common Breath. On-site

camera_alt 10.03-03.04.21

Partie I: Foreground

videocam 10.03.21, 19:00

Partie II: Territories

videocam 17.03.21, 19:00

Partie III : Resistance

videocam 24.03.21, 19:00

Partie IV: A Possible Toolkit

videocam 31.03.21, 19:30

Partie IV: A Possible Toolkit

EVENEMENT EN LIGNE
LIVE STREAMING SUR CETTE PAGE

PROGRAMME

31.03.21, 19:00

Lecture performance de Joséphine Budge, suivie d’une conversation entre l’artiste-chercheuse et Régine Debatty.

Le dernier chapitre de A Common Breath propose un espace discursif de réflexion collective pour imaginer une diversité de récits et de scénarii de transition. De quels outils critiques et de quelles alternatives dispose-t-on pour créer de nouvelles passerelles entre justice climatique, décolonisation et écologie ? Volontairement spéculative, cette rencontre entrelace les méthodes, philosophique, scientifique, anthropologique, politique, activiste, artistique au-delà des savoirs occidentaux et normatifs. Ama Josephine Budge propose une lecture-performance explorant la « dé»volution, les concepts de Blackness, Queerness et le changement climatique. Cette présentation est suivie d’une discussion avec Régine Debatty.

Ama Josephine Budge écrit des fictions spéculatives, elle est artiste, curatrice et activiste du plaisir. Sa pratique oscille entre l’exploration intime d’un héritage racial, l’art, l’écologie et le féminisme. Son travail mêle des questions de droits de l’homme, d’évolutions environnementales et d’identités queer. Elle bénéficie de la bourse Local, International and Planetary Fictions avec Curatorial Frame (Helsinki) et EVA International (Limerick) pour une recherche intitulée «Pleasurable Ecologies - Formations of Care : Curation as Future-building ». Ama est également membre de Queer Ecologies 2020, elle est initiatrice du projet Apocalypse Reading Room, et bénéficie du soutien de la commission Micro de la Bernie Grant 2020. Elle est aussi l’artiste en tête du projet MycoLective avec les Studios de Chisenhale et Feral Practice.

Régine Debatty est une reporter et critique d’art d’origine belge. En 2004, elle crée le blog we-make-money-not-art.com dont le contenu croise questions de société, arts, sciences et technologies. La plateforme a reçu plusieurs distinctions dont 2 Webby awards et une mention d’honneur au STARTS Prize, un concours de la Commission Europénne. Régine Debatty intervient régulièrement lors de colloques, ateliers et festivals. Elle a créé A.I.L. (Artists in Laboratories), un programme radio hebdomadaire qui approfondit les collaborations entre l’art et la science pour Resonance 104.4fm à Londres (2012-2014) et est la co-auteure du “sprint book” New Art/Science Affinities, publié par l’Université Carnegie Mellon en 2011.