arrow_downward
arrow_upward

About Constellations for futures

text_fields 02.12-04.12.21

Camille & Ulysse by Diana Toucedo

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

Urth by Ben Rivers

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

21% by Ursula Biemann

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

Day 1 - Camille & Ulysse

videocam 02.12.21, 19:00-21:00

Day 2 - Narratives about Earth

videocam 03.12.21, 19:00-21:30

Day 3 - Caring is/in the future

videocam 04.12.21, 14:00-18:00

La Loge History

attach_file
arrow_forward_ios
arrow_back_ios

Day 3 - Caring is/in the future

Screening of Swoosh Lieu's film, a presentation by Chanelle Adams, and performances by Mira Hirtz and Fallon Mayanja.

Based on the narratives of the previous days, at the interaction between science and futurity, the third part of our programme looks at if and how we can create new spaces of awareness. In undetermined futures, at the junction between social experiments and fictional revolutions, scientific, sensitive, and poetic tools build new zones of care for inter-species and communal coexistence. The practices on display will offer the opportunity to experiment with other participatory forms of living collectively with change.

Book your ticket - Part 1 - 14:00-16:00

Book your ticket - Part 2 : 16:45 - 18:00

PROGRAMME

14:00
Presentation by Chanelle Adams

In this lecture, scholar/writer/artist Chanelle Adams inaugurates the Saturday session by offering reflections on her research practice related to healing plants, colonialism, and history. By bringing together experiences with archive and the body, Adams' imagines possible futures of care through a politics of scholarship which prioritizes lived experiences, memory, and ecologies of relating.

14:50
Screening of Swoosh Lieu's film

What if there was a care revolution that finally repealed inequality? What would our future look like? The feminist collective Swoosh Lieu imagines such a future where gender roles are broken, racist discrimination is a thing of the past, the world is decolonised and the revolution has ensured better and fairer working and living conditions, not only in the care sector, but also in public life.

15:10/15
Exploring notions of care: a performative workshop by Mira Hirtz

What defines a caring body? How do we observe and embody care?
We will experiment with gestures of care and notions of witnessing. Thus we shift our perception between ourselves, others, and other-than-human entities by simply focusing on the means that our sensing bodies offer: walking, standing, feeling, seeing, seeing again, touching, noticing. Might the focus on these everyday means create an ecology of awareness?

This workshop will serve as a performative intervention into the programme.
No prior experience of movement or performance is needed, just bring your curiosity!

16:15
Break, tea time, and cakes

16:45
Performance by Fallon Mayanja

SENSING SATELLITE (2021) is inspired by Julius Eastman's original composition The Holy Presence Of Joan D'Arc which the artist confronts with Malcolm Ferdinand's A Decolonial Ecology. This performance is a cross between fictional speculation and social experiment. It offers an intersection of possibilities for the composition of another world to come. This interstice unfolds primarily through sound: between poetic declamation, edits of political archives, and electronic music.

Biographies


Chanelle Adams
is a multidisciplinary essayist, researcher, and translator. Adams is currently a doctoral student of Geography at the University of Lausanne committed to ecologies of knowledge which bring the body, history, and memory into relationship. Her research in History of Science, Science and Technology Studies, and Medical Anthropology is broadly interested in politics of the botanical and practices of healing across space and time, and more specifically between Madagascar and France. Adams’ interdisciplinary and research based works have been published and performed widely across three continents including: NPR, The Funambulist, The Drift, Bitch Media, Black Quantum Futurism, Danspace Project 2020 Platform and Stanford University, and has appeared on various academic panels in places such as Johannesburg, Athens, Brno, and Ouidah. Her 2019 work “Botany of Death” which deals with questions of colonial custodianship, care, and decay was initiated during a residency at the Visual Arts Network of South Africa. Her 2021 project “Ghost zoo” in collaboration with Belsunce Projects was developed during her research in the archives Marseille’s Museum of Natural History and Colonial Institute, supported by a Fulbright grant. She has a forthcoming Plant Zine.

Mira Hirtz is a performance artist, art mediator, and art theorist basing her work on somatic practices. She explores the value of creativity for human beings and ecologies in many different formats such as workshops, performances, video pieces and texts. She graduated from the MFA Creative Practice at TL Conservatoire London and from the MA art research at University of Art and Design Karlsruhe, where she presently teaches performative research. Furthermore she worked as an art mediator at documenta14, co-curated the program series “How do we care?” at Badischer Kunstverein 2020 and took part in Bruno Latour’s research seminar leading up the “Critical Zones” exhibition at ZKM Karlsruhe for which she is developing performative art meditation. She co-founded the Initiative for Applied Melancholy whose current project ANTHROPOS EX (https://anthropos-ex.com/) is researching the theatre of the Anthropocene.

Swoosh Lieu is a queer feminist collective (Rosa Wernecke, Katharina Pelosi, and Johanna Castell) creating at the interface of theatre, performance, and visual arts. The collective was founded in 2009 at the Institute for Applied Theater Studies in Giessen and has been working continuously in different constellations and collaborations ever since. The collective creates temporary spaces and images in real time, and at the same time thematizes their production. Through this form of performative practice, they open the space of the theatre for socio-political analogies, which, however, are always negotiated and made tangible with its means. Performances have taken place at the Dance Platform at Kampnagel in Hamburg, at the Stückemarkt of the Berliner Theatertreffen, and at the Impulse und Politik im Freie Theater festival. The projects Who Cares?! (2018) and Who Moves?! (2019) were produced as radio plays in collaboration with NDR, Who Cares?! was nominated for the Juliane Bartel Media Prize in 2018.

Artist whose work deals with sound and performance. Fallon Mayanja explores listening practices as well as electronic possibilities, in order to broaden the perceptions of the public and the listeners. Fallon’s work, which is oriented towards sound tangibility and political pedagogy, questions existing forms of communication and seeks alternative practices of reception and interaction, through sound and voice. Fallon seeks to discover areas of contact between the body - sound, sound - society and their communication by studying sound forms as sensory activation and narrative devices. Primarily using electronics and technology as tools to share, connect, feel and listen, artistic production leads to an analysis of the audible and the inaudible, the unspoken and the unspeakable, and the tangible and the unspeakable, of the sensitive, inside and outside sound. Fallon Mayanja's performances have been presented: at BétonSalon - Paris (2018), at The Place and CUNTemporary - London (2019), at Creamcake - Berlin (2019), at FRAC Lorraine (2021) or at ForumArteBraga (2021). The artist has also participated in group exhibitions in Europe and internationally: in Lisbon (2020), Mexico City (2019), Thessaloniki (2019) and Berlin (2020).

arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Camille & Ulysse by Diana Toucedo

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

Urth by Ben Rivers

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

21% by Ursula Biemann

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

Partie 1 - Camille & Ulysse

videocam 02.12.21, 19:00-21:00 LIVE NOW

Partie 2 - Narratives about Earth

videocam 03.12.21, 19:00-21:30

Partie 3 - Caring is/in the future

videocam 04.12.21, 14:00-18:00
arrow_forward_ios
arrow_back_ios

Partie 3 - Caring is/in the future

Présentation par Chanelle Adams, projection du film de Swoosh Lieu, et des performances de Mira Hirtz et Fallon Mayanja.

Sur base des récits des journées précédentes, à l'interaction entre sciences et futurité, le troisième temps du programme se tourne vers la possibilité de créer de nouveaux espaces d'attention. Dans des futures indéterminés à la jonction entre expériences sociales et révolutions fictives, les outils scientifiques, sensibles et poétiques échafaudent de nouvelles zones de soin et de coexistence inter-espèces et communautaires. Les pratiques exposées offriront l’opportunité d'élargir et de décoloniser sa propre pensée et d'expérimenter d'autres formes participatives

Book your ticket - Partie 1 - 14:00-16:00

Book your ticket - Partie 2 : 16:45 - 18:00

PROGRAMME

14:00
Présentation de Chanelle Adams

Pour son intervention, l'universitaire/écrivainne/artiste Chanelle Adams inaugure la session du samedi en proposant des réflexions sur sa pratique de recherche liée aux plantes médicinales, au colonialisme et à l'histoire. En réunissant ses expériences avec les archives et le corps, Chanelle Adams imagine des futurs possibles de soins à travers une politique de recherche qui donne la priorité aux expériences vécues, à la mémoire et aux écologies de relation.

14:50
Projection de Caring is for/from the future, de Swoosh Lieu, 2021

Et s'il y avait une “révolution du care” qui abrogeait enfin les inégalités ? À quoi ressemblerait notre avenir ? Le collectif féministe Swoosh Lieu imagine un tel futur en déjouant où les rôles de genre, et où la discrimination raciste appartient au passé, le monde semble décolonisé et la révolution a assuré des conditions de travail et de vie meilleures et plus justes, en particulier dans le secteur des soins, mais aussi dans la vie publique.

15:15
Exploring notions of care: un workshop performatif par by Mira Hirtz

Qu'est-ce qui définit un corps attentif ? Comment observons-nous et incarnons-nous le care (soin) ? Nous allons expérimenter des gestes de soin et des témoignages. Nous changerons ainsi notre perception de nous-mêmes, des autres et des entités autres qu'humaines en nous concentrant simplement sur les gestes dont nous disposons en tant que corps sensibles : marcher, se tenir debout, sentir, voir, revoir, toucher, remarquer. Pouvons-nous, en se concentrant sur ces gestes quotidiens, créer une écologie de la conscience ?

*Cet atelier servira d'intervention performative dans le programme. Aucune expérience préalable du mouvement ni de la performance n'est requise, apportez simplement votre curiosité !

16:15
Pause goûter

16:45
Performance de Fallon Mayanja

"SENSING SATELLITE" (2021) s'inspire de la composition originale de Julius Eastman " The Holy Presence Of Joan D'Arc " que l'artiste met en conversation avec des extraits de l'ouvrage de Malcom Ferdinand "Une écologie décoloniale". Cette performance est à la croisée de spéculation fictive et d'expérience sociale. Elle propose un interstice des possibles pour la composition d'un autre monde à venir. Cet interstice se déploie d'abord par le son, entre déclamation poétique, traitement d'archives politiques et musique électronique. Elle se déploie par la mise en place d'une architecture électronique permettant un glitch spatial.

Biographies


Chanelle Adams
est une essayiste, chercheuse et traductrice multidisciplinaire. Adams est actuellement doctorante en géographie à l'Université de Lausanne et s'intéresse aux écologies de la connaissance qui mettent en relation le corps, l'histoire et la mémoire. Ses recherches en histoire des sciences, études des sciences et des technologies et anthropologie médicale s'intéressent largement aux politiques botaniques et aux pratiques de guérison à travers l'espace et le temps, et plus particulièrement entre Madagascar et la France. Les œuvres interdisciplinaires et basées sur la recherche d'Adams ont été publiées et interpretées sur trois continents, notamment par NPR, The Funambulist et le Centre de recherche de l'Université du Michigan : NPR, The Funambulist, The Drift, Bitch Media, Black Quantum Futurism, Danspace Project 2020 Platform et l'Université de Stanford, et a participé à divers panels universitaires dans des endroits tels que Johannesburg, Athènes, Brno et Ouidah. Son œuvre de 2019, "Botany of Death", qui traite des questions de garde, de soins et de dégradation coloniale, a été initiée lors d'une résidence au Visual Arts Network of South Africa. Son projet de 2021 "Ghost zoo" en collaboration avec Belsunce Projects a été développé pendant ses recherches dans les archives du Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle et de l'Institut Colonial de Marseille, soutenues par une bourse Fulbright.

Mira Hirtz est artiste, performeuse, médiatrice artistique et théoricienne de l'art dont le travail porte sur des pratiques somatiques. Elle explore la valeur de la créativité pour les êtres humains et les écosystèmes dans de nombreux formats différents tels que des ateliers, des performances, des œuvres vidéo et des textes. Elle est diplômée du MFA Creative Practice du TL Conservatoire de Londres et du programme Master en art research de l'Université d'art et de design de Karlsruhe, où elle enseigne actuellement la recherche performative. Elle a également travaillé en tant que médiatrice d'art à la documenta14, a co-commandité la série de programmes "How do we care ?" au Badischer Kunstverein 2020 et a participé au séminaire de recherche de Bruno Latour qui a mené à l'exposition "Critical Zones" au ZKM de Karlsruhe, pour laquelle elle a développé une méditation artistique performative. Elle a cofondé l'Initiative for Applied Melancholy dont le projet actuel ANTHROPOS EX (https://anthropos-ex.com/) mène une recherche autour du théâtre de l'Anthropocène.

Swoosh Lieu est un collectif féministe queer (Rosa Wernecke, Katharina Pelosi et Johanna Castell) qui travaille à la croisée du théâtre, de la performance et des arts visuels. Le collectif a été fondé en 2009 à l'Institute for Applied Theater Studies de Giessen et ses membres travaillent depuis lors de manière continue dans différentes constellations et collaborations. Le collectif crée des espaces et des images temporaires en temps réel, et analyse simultanément leur production. Grâce à cette forme de pratique performative, Swoosh Lieu ouvre l'espace du théâtre à des comparaisons socio-politiques, qui sont toutefois toujours négociées et rendues tangibles par les moyens propres au théâtre. Des performances ont eu lieu à la Dance Platform de Kampnagel à Hambourg, au Stückemarkt de la Berliner Theatertreffen et au festival Impulse und Politik im Freie Theater. Les projets Who Cares ? (2018) et Who Moves ?! (2019) ont été produits en tant que pièces radiophoniques en collaboration avec NDR, et Who Cares ?! a été nominé pour le prix Juliane Bartel Media en 2018.

Fallon Mayanja est une artiste dont le travail porte sur le son et la performance. Fallon Mayanja explore les pratiques d'écoute ainsi que les possibilités électroniques, afin d'élargir les perceptions du public et des auditeur.rice.s. Le travail de Fallon, orienté vers la tangibilité du son et la pédagogie politique, remet en question les formes de communication existantes et cherche des pratiques alternatives de réception et d'interaction, à travers le son et la voix. Fallon cherche à découvrir des zones de contact entre le corps - le son, le son - la société et leur communication en étudiant les formes sonores comme activation sensorielle et dispositifs narratifs. Utilisant principalement l'électronique et la technologie comme outils de partage, de connexion, de sensation et d'écoute, la production artistique conduit à une analyse de l'audible et de l'inaudible, du non-dit et de l'indicible, du tangible et de l'indicible, du sensible, du son intérieur et extérieur. Les performances de Fallon Mayanja ont été présentées : au BétonSalon - Paris (2018), à The Place et CUNTemporary - Londres (2019), à Creamcake - Berlin (2019), au FRAC Lorraine (2021) ou au ForumArteBraga (2021). L'artiste a également participé à des expositions collectives en Europe et à l'international: à Lisbonne (2020), Mexico (2019), Thessalonique (2019) et Berlin (2020).