arrow_downward
arrow_upward

About Constellations for futures

text_fields 02.12-04.12.21

Urth by Ben Rivers

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

Day 1 - Camille & Ulysse

videocam 02.12.21, 19:00-21:00

Day 2 - Narratives about Earth

videocam 03.12.21, 19:00-21:30

Day 3 - Caring is/in the future

videocam 04.12.21, 14:00-18:00

La Loge History

attach_file

About Constellations for futures

Stories on Ecology, Kinship and Sciences

02.12 - 04.12.21

With the participation of Chanelle Adams, Ursula Biemann, Jennifer Gabrys, Mira Hirtz, Katharina Hoppe, Fallon Mayanja, Ben Rivers, Adam Searle and Jonathon Turnbull, Swoosh Lieu, and Diana Toucedo.

Events will take place in person at La Loge (Brussels, upon reservation) and will be broadcasted via live streaming (in free access, without reservation) on the following platforms:

La Loge broadcasts

Lockdown lessons - Goethe

Goethe-Institut Brussels and La Loge present Constellations for futures, a three-day discursive programme of lectures, film screenings, and artistic performances at the intersection of ecology, community, and science.

This multidisciplinary program—which interweaves science and fictional narratives, real and speculative facts—questions the meaning and consequences of current crises in order to examine inequalities and to think differently about relations between humans and non-humans. Researchers and invited artists will examine the viability and impact of scientific and technological experiments on the environment which has been shaped by a history of domination as well as by economic and social realities. The hypotheses presented in the varying practices will draw up new constellations and spaces for listening to and for sharing current thoughts, all in favour of new kinships, alliances and communities.

Constellations for futures follows up on the comprehensive discussion regarding the impact of the pandemic and a series of events developed by La Loge and the Goethe-Institut in 2021. At La Loge, A Common Breath (10.03 - 03.04) raised ecological questions and confronted issues on dehierarchization, while Reclaiming Places (01.05 - 03.07) focused on inhabited spaces and indigenous rights by fusing arts and theoretical reflections. These encounters pleaded in favour of non-hierarchical relationships and a collective consciousness in order to think of alternative ways of living together and modes of action. With the project Lockdown Lessons, the Goethe-Institut has clearly stated that we are still fully experiencing the pandemic. Scientists are invited to play a role in explaining the changes and providing impulses for new thinking. In dialogue with science, the project aims to learn from this period in a cooperative way, to identify social challenges, and to develop ideas for the future.

Together, Goethe-Institut and La Loge continue to question and explore these challenging times, both on an ecological and social level.

PROGRAMME

CAMILLE & ULYSSE
02.12.21
19:00 - 21:00

Screening of a new film by Diana Toucedo, Camille & Ulysse, 2021
Followed by a discussion between director Diana Toucedo (online) and researcher Katharina Hoppe.

The philosophers Vinciane Despret and Donna Haraway combine their voices in this audio-visual piece by filmmaker Diana Toucedo, based on two of their fabulations: Haraway’s The Camille Stories, and Autobiographie d’un poulpe, by Despret.

Read more

NARRATIVES ABOUT EARTH
03.12.21
19:00

Screening of films by Ben Rivers (Urth) and Ursula Biemann (Twenty One Percent)
With interventions by Jennifer Gabrys (Planetary as Praxis), Adam Searle and Jonathon Turnbull (Anthropause and Resurgent natures).

Entitled Narratives about Earth, the second evening will critically reflect on the role and impact of scientific and technological experiments that underline the dominance and limits of the anthropocene. The works and discussions will also question how science and science fiction interact, in order to analyse how the latter can support the deployment of new scientific knowledge. In addition, we will see how ecological and social upheavals are driving new scientific experiments that are conducive to other models of co-existence with the environment.

Read more

CARING IS/IN THE FUTURE
04.12.21
14:00 - 18:00

Screening of Swoosh Lieu's film, a presentation by Chanelle Adams, and new performances by Mira Hirtz and Fallon Mayanja.

Based on the narratives of the previous days, at the interaction between science and futurity, the third part of our programme looks at if and how we can create new spaces of awareness. In undetermined futures, at the junction between social experiments and fictional revolutions, scientific, sensitive, and poetic tools build new zones of care for inter-species and communal coexistence. The practices on display will offer the opportunity to experiment with other participatory forms of living collectively with change.

Read more

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

Access
Venue: La Loge
Price: 3 euros
Reservation via www.la-loge.be
Presentation of a CST is obligatory
Language : English

For more information: info@la-loge.be

Online screening
04.12.21 - 10.12.21
The videos shown during the programme will also be available to stream from December 4th to 10th on La Loge's digital platform.

Bar
An area with drinks and snacks where we can freely continue discussions will be open every day on the second floor at La Loge.

This programme was developed in partnership with the Goethe-Institut Brussels.

Goethe-Institut Brussels
Rue Belliard / Belliardstraat 58
1000 Brussels

Lockdown Lessons

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institution of the Federal Republic of Germany and represents it worldwide. Through its presence in Brussels, it makes a major contribution to strengthening the European integration process and conveying Europe’s cultural diversity at political and strategic level. Its cultural, information and education programmes in Belgium promote exchange and cultural participation as well as interest in the German language. 

Team
Coordination : Anne Kurr, Antoinette Jattiot
Assistant : Paul de Toytot
Scenography : BUREAUY - Yuichiro Onuma
Graphic design: Antoine Begon, Boy Vereecken
Production : Leonor Gomez, Benjamin Jaubert, Arthur Jules,
Video and sound : Armand Morin, Live Line
Translations: BLURBS, Marianne Thys

arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Camille & Ulysse by Diana Toucedo

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

Urth by Ben Rivers

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

21% by Ursula Biemann

slideshow 04.12-10.12.21

Partie 1 - Camille & Ulysse

videocam 02.12.21, 19:00-21:00 LIVE NOW

Partie 2 - Narratives about Earth

videocam 03.12.21, 19:00-21:30

Partie 3 - Caring is/in the future

videocam 04.12.21, 14:00-18:00

À propos de Constellations for futures

Stories on Ecology, Kinship and Sciences

02.12 - 04.12.21

Avec la participation de Chanelle Adams, Ursula Biemann, Jennifer Gabrys, Mira Hirtz, Katharina Hoppe, Fallon Mayanja, Ben Rivers, Adam Searle et Jonathon Turnbull, Swoosh Lieu, et Diana Toucedo

Évènements en présence à La Loge (Bruxelles, sur réservation) et diffusés en live streaming (en libre accès, sans réservation) sur les plateformes:

La Loge broadcasts

Lockdown lessons - Goethe

Goethe-Institut Bruxelles et La Loge présentent Constellations for futures, un programme discursif de trois jours avec des conférences, des projections de films et des performances artistiques au croisement de l’écologie, des communautés et des sciences.

Le programme pluridisciplinaire, qui entrelace science et récits de fiction, faits réels et spéculatifs, interroge le sens et les leçons des crises actuelles pour examiner les inégalités et penser différemment les relations entre humains et non-humains. Le dialogue entre les chercheur.euse.s et des artistes invité.e.s questionnera la viabilité et les impacts d’expérimentations (scientifiques, technologiques) sur l’environnement marqué par des histoires de domination et différentes réalités économiques et sociales. Le potentiel des imaginaires permis par les pratiques présentées dressera de nouvelles constellations, des espaces d’écoute et de partage de pensées depuis le présent, au profit de nouvelles parentés, alliances et communautés.

Constellations for futures a été imaginé dans la continuité d’une réflexion globale sur les impacts de la pandémie et d’une série d'événements développés par La Loge et le Goethe-Institut en 2021. A La Loge, A Common Breath (10.03 - 03.04) articulait questions écologiques et enjeux de déhierarchisation, tandis que Reclaiming Places (01.05 - 03.07) s'attachait aux espaces que l'on habite et aux droits indigènes. Ces rencontres, en mêlant arts et réflexions théoriques, plaidaient en faveur de rapports non hiérarchiques et d’une conscience collective pour penser des manières de vivre-ensemble et modes d’action alternatifs. Avec le projet Lockdown Lessons, le Goethe-Institut part du constat que nous vivons encore pleinement l’expérience de la pandémie. Les scientifiques y jouent un rôle en expliquant les changements et en donnant des impulsions pour de nouvelles réflexions. En dialogue avec les sciences, le projet souhaite tirer des leçons de cette période de manière coopérative, identifier les défis sociaux et développer des idées pour l'avenir.

Ensemble, Goethe-Institut et La Loge continuent d’interroger et d’explorer les enjeux de ces temps de crise écologique et sociale.

PROGRAMME

CAMILLE & ULYSSE
02.12.21
19:00 - 21:00

Projection du nouveau film Diana Toucedo, Camille & Ulysse, 2021
Suivie d’une discussion entre la réalisatrice Diana Toucedo (en ligne) et la chercheuse Katharina Hoppe

Les philosophes Vinciane Despret et Donna Haraway associent leurs voix dans cette pièce audiovisuelle de la cinéaste Diana Toucedo, basée sur deux de leurs fabulations : The Camille Stories de Haraway et Autobiographie d'un poulpe de Despret.

Read more

NARRATIVES ABOUT EARTH
03.12.21
19:00

Avec la projection de films de Ben Rivers (Urth) et Ursula Biemann (Twenty One Percent)
Avec des interventions de Jennifer Gabrys (Being Planetary as Praxis), Adam Searle et Jonathon Turnbull (Anthropause and Resurgent natures)

La deuxième soirée intitulée Narratives about Earth proposera une réflexion critique sur le rôle et l'impact de recherches scientifiques et évolutions technologiques qui soulignent la domination et les limites de l’anthropocène. Les œuvres et discussions questionnent aussi l'interaction de la science et de la science-fiction pour entrevoir la façon dont cette dernière peut aussi soutenir le déploiement de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques. En outre, nous verrons comment les bouleversements écologiques et sociaux actuels impulsent de nouvelles théories scientifiques propices à d’autres modèles de coexistence avec l’environnement.

Plus de détails

CARING IS/IN THE FUTURE
04.12.21
14:00 - 18:00

Présentation par Chanelle Adams, projection du film de Swoosh Lieu, et des performances de Mira Hirtz et Fallon Mayanja.

Sur base des récits des journées précédentes, à l'interaction entre sciences et futurité, le troisième temps du programme se tourne vers la possibilité de créer de nouveaux espaces d'attention. Dans des futures indéterminés à la jonction entre expériences sociales et révolutions fictives, les outils scientifiques, sensibles et poétiques échafaudent de nouvelles zones de soin et de coexistence inter-espèces et communautaires. Les pratiques exposées offriront l’opportunité d'expérimenter d'autres formes participatives pour mieux vivre collectivement avec le(s) changement(s).

Plus de détails

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

Accès
Tarif : 3 euros
Entrée sur réservation ici

Présentation du CST obligatoire

Pour plus de renseignements : info@la-loge.be

La Loge
Rue de l’ermitage 86
1050 Bruxelles
www.la-loge.be

Bar
Un espace avec des boissons et des snacks sera ouvert chaque jour au deuxième étage de la Loge pour continuer les discussions.

Films en ligne
04.12 - 10.12.21
Les vidéos diffusées lors du programme seront également disponibles en streaming du 4 au 10 décembre sur la plateforme digitale de La Loge.

Ce programme est conçu en partenariat avec le Goethe-Institut Bruxelles.

Goethe-Institut Bruxelles
Rue Belliard / Belliardstraat 58
1000 Bruxelles

Lockdown Lessons

Le Goethe-Institut est l’institut culturel de la République fédérale d’Allemagne, actif au niveau mondial. Par l’intermédiaire de notre siège à Bruxelles, nous apportons une contribution importante au renforcement du processus d’intégration européen et transmettons la diversité culturelle de l’Europe au niveau politico-stratégique. Nos programmes culturels, informatifs et éducatifs en Belgique favorisent les échanges et la participation culturelle, ainsi que l’intérêt pour la langue allemande.

Equipe
Coordination : Anne Kurr, Antoinette Jattiot
Assistant : Paul de Toytot
Scenography : Bureau Y - Yuichiro Onuma
Graphic design: Antoine Begon, Boy Vereecken
Production : Arthur Jules, Leonor Gomez
Video and sound : Armand Morin, Live Line
Translations: BLURBS, Marianne Thys