arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Mistik by Hana Miletić

camera_alt 23.01-27.02.21

About Mistik

attach_file 23.01-27.02.21

Materials - Mistik, 2020

camera_alt 23.01-27.02.21

The Best Husband (Najbolji muž)

slideshow 23.01-27.02.21

Online Reading Group with Hana Miletić

notifications 06.02.21, 14:00-16:00

In Between Utopia and Failure, Part IV: Inhabiting the Impasse of Modernity

The urban landscape of Brussels is a spectacle of contrasts and paradoxes: “a body convulsed by hysteria” as described by Gery Leloutre. How can we inhabit the chaos resulting from the transformations that occurred in the post-war period and that made a lasting imprint on collective consciousness? With the films Mall of Europe by the artist Emma van der Put—that revisits the 1958 Brussels World's Fair—and Altogether by Herman Asselberghs, this fourth and last chapter of the programme aims to give a contemporary outline of the heritage left by modernist utopias, and explores how the impasse of modernity can now be inhabited. This evening moderated by Gery Leloutre aims to open up a dialogue on the possible ways in which we can live in urban spaces, and touches upon the notion of “demodernizing” the public space.

The event was supplemented by the online screening of Our City by Maria Tarantino available on our platform during the week of the event.

Screening of Altogether, a film by Herman Asselberghs, 2008, 17min
“The future is dark which is, on the whole, the best thing the future can be, I think.” With this observation as a starting-point, Altogether fully acknowledges the ideological impasse of the post 68-era. The symbolic presence of flags and historical buildings, and of maintaining (national) capitals as such has become arguable; projected into the (near) future, they appear in a most uncertain light, and the cinematographic language underlines this: fragmented and associative, shot in black and white, the video shows sketchy images of urban scenery, some of them shot with a moving cell-phone camera on a car ride through Brussels. But what we actually see is a shadowy abstraction of a city which gives the impression of a negative space whose virtual character is no longer theorised using a voice-over, but can be found in the image itself. There is no speech, only sound. Approaching its climax, the film advances towards the collapse of the visible, leaving the viewer “locked in” inside the current situation: fully aware of the (uncertain) future to come, wondering whether he or she will be capable of exerting any influence on it.

Screening of Mall of Europe, a film by Emma van der Put, 2018, 26min
Mall of Europe is a reflection on the current Brussels Expo area, where in the past several World Fairs were held. Build as a stage for representing the “state of the world”, Expo ’58 was displaying ideal ways of living and hopes for a prosperous future made possible by technology. Now echoes of these ideas can be found in the still inhabited modernist “Model Neighborhood”. Current plans for the modernization of the Brussels Expo area, which are ought to be completed in 2021, will add a new chapter to the thinking about an ideal society.

ONLINE screening of Our City, a film by Maria Tarantino, 2014, 83min
This is Brussels, the capital of Europe, a city of concrete cages wrapped in glass, planned by businessmen and politicians, set in motion by construction workers, and animated by office people. But there, in the narrow spaces just beyond the reach of bureaucracy, lies the Brussels that still breathes. You can hear its multicultural heart beating and see the traces of all the other cities, the ones each person carries within him/herself. All of us together add up to create the complex body and dissonant identity of Our City.

Biographies

Herman Asselberghs (°1962) is a Brussels-based visual artist, filmmaker and mediacritic whose work focuses on the questioning of complex relationship and border areas between sound and image, world and media, poetry and politics. He occasionally publishes on film and visual culture and teaches at the film department of Hogeschool Sint-Lukas Brussel. In 2006, he founded the Brussels-based production and distribution platform Auguste Orts together with Sven Augustijnen, Manon de Boer and Anouk De Clercq.

Gery Leloutre (°1979) is an architect (Horta Institute for Architecture, Brussels, 2002), urban planner (KULeuven, 2006) in Brussels, and active in the design office Karbon' that he co-created in 2008. As a leading professor at the ULB Faculty of Architecture, he’s combining an architectural practice with an in-depth theoretical reflexion about the city. He completed a doctoral thesis, jointly with the ULB and the IUAV in Venice, on the modus operandi of city building in Brussels in the middle of the 20th century. He continues to reflect on Brussels and urban planning, sharing his insights in an integrated way through a combination of teaching, conducting research and article writing, and practice.

Maria Tarantino (°1972) studied philosophy in Scotland and Italy before settling down in Belgium, where she gradually moves from philosophy to journalism. In Brussels she works for the press, radio and television for several years. It's her program for the VRT about young documentary-makers from all over the world (The World of Tarantino) that inspires her to quit journalism for cinema. In 2009, Maria Tarantino sets up the production house WILDUNDOMESTICATED and begins the adventure of the feature-length documentary Our City, which has been completed five years later.

Emma van der Put’s (°1988) videos create fleeting impressions of reality and frictions between movement and frozen moments. Without any apparent narrative structures, her recent work has focused on public spaces, and the confrontation between what was an optimistic, modernist conception of the future, and the contemporary reality of Brussels, where she has worked since 2014. She studied at AKV St. Joost, ‘s-Hertogenbosch (2006-2010) and was a participant at De Ateliers in Amsterdam (2010-2012). She was an artist in residence at Lokaal 01, Antwerp (2014) and at WIELS, Brussels (2014). Recent shows and screenings include: Mu.ZEE, Ostend (2020); Atelierhaus Klingental, Basel (2019); A Tale of a Tub, Rotterdam (2018) and Antwerp Art Weekend (2017).

arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Hana Miletić

camera_alt 23.01.21-13.02.21

In Between Utopia and Failure, Partie IV: Inhabiting the Impasse of Modernity

Le paysage urbain de Bruxelles est un spectacle de contrastes et de paradoxes : «un corps convulsé par l’hystérie», écrit Gery Leloutre. Comment pouvons-nous habiter le chaos résultant des transformations qui se sont produites après-guerre et qui ont marqué durablement la conscience collective ? Avec les films Mall of Europe de l’artiste Emma van der Put - qui revisite
l’exposition universelle de Bruxelles de 1958 - et Altogether de Herman Asselberghs, ce quatrième et dernier chapitre du programme donne un aperçu contemporain de l’héritage des utopies modernistes et propose une réflexion sur la manière d’habiter l’impasse de la modernité.

L'évènement en live est complété par la projection en ligne de Our City de Maria Tarantino, visible sur notre plateforme la semaine de l’évènement.

Projection de Altogether, un film de Herman Asselberghs, 2008, 17min
« L’avenir est sombre, ce qui est, je pense, la meilleure chose qu’il puisse être». En partant de ce constat, Altogether reconnaît pleinement l’impasse idéologique de l’après 68. La présence symbolique des drapeaux, des bâtiments historiques, et des capitales (nationales) dans leur état actuel est désormais remis en cause. Imaginés dans un avenir (proche), ces éléments apparaissent sous un jour des plus incertains, comme le souligne le langage cinématographique d’Asselberghs : les images fragmentées et leurs associations dans la vidéo tournée en noir et blanc montrent des paysages urbains, dont certains sont aussi filmés avec une caméra de téléphone portable lors d’une balade en voiture. Mais ce que nous voyons en réalité est une abstraction obscure d’une ville qui donne l’impression d’un espace en négatif dont le caractère virtuel n’est plus formulé par la voix off, mais est représenté dans l’image elle-même. À l’approche de son point culminant, le film avance vers l’effondrement du visible, laissant le spectateur « enfermé » dans la situation actuelle : pleinement conscient de l’avenir incertain qui nous guette, le film interroge le spectateur sur sa faculté à exercer une quelconque influence sur celui-ci.

Projection de Mall of Europe, un film de Emma van der Put, 2018, 26min
Mall of Europe est une réflexion sur le quartier de l’Expo 58 à Bruxelles, où deux expositions universelles ont eu lieu par le passé. Construite comme une scène pour représenter « l’état du monde », l’Expo 58 présentait des modes de vie idéaux et les espoirs d’un avenir prospère rendu possible grâce aux évolutions de la technologie. On retrouve des traces de ces idées dans le “quartier modèle” moderniste encore habité aujourd’hui. Les plans actuels de modernisation du quartier de l’Expo 58, qui devraient être achevés en 2021, ajouteront un nouveau chapitre aux réflexions sur ce qu’est ou doit être une société idéale.

Projection EN LIGNE de Our City, un film de Maria Tarantino, 2014, 83min
C’est Bruxelles, la capitale de l’Europe, une ville de cages en béton enveloppées de verre, organisée par des hommes d’affaires et des politiciens, mise en mouvement par des ouvriers du bâtiment et animée par des employés de bureau. Mais c’est là, dans les espaces étroits, hors de portée de la bureaucratie, que se trouve le cœur d’une ville qui respire encore. On peut entendre battre son cœur multiculturel et percevoir les traces de toutes les autres villes. Ensemble, ces acteurs représentent la somme d’un corps complexe et l’identité dissonante de la ville.

Biographies

Herman Asselberghs (°1962) est un artiste plasticien, cinéaste et critique basé à Bruxelles dont le travail questionne les relations complexes et les limites poreuses entre le son et l’image, le monde et les médias, la poésie et la politique. Il contribue occasionnellement à des publications sur la culture cinématographique et visuelle et enseigne au département cinéma de la LUCA School of Arts - campus Bruxelles. En 2006, il a fondé la plateforme de production et de distribution Auguste Orts à Bruxelles avec Sven Augustijnen, Manon de Boer et Anouk De Clercq.

Gery Leloutre (°1979) est architecte (Institut Horta pour l’architecture, Bruxelles, 2002), urbaniste (KULeuven, 2006) à Bruxelles, et actif dans le bureau d’études Karbon qu’il a co-créé en 2008. En tant que professeur principal à la Faculté d’architecture de l’ULB, il combine sa pratique architecturale à une réflexion théorique approfondie sur la ville. Il est l’auteur d’une thèse réalisée conjointement avec l’ULB et l’IUAV de Venise sur le modus operandi de la construction urbaine à Bruxelles au milieu du XXe siècle. Dans son travail, il ne cesse de réfléchir à Bruxelles et l’urbanisme de la ville, en combinant l’enseignement, la recherche et la rédaction d’articles.

Maria Tarantino (°1972) a étudié la philosophie en Écosse et en Italie avant de s’installer en Belgique, où elle s’oriente peu à peu vers le journalisme. À Bruxelles, elle travaille pour la presse, la radio et la télévision pendant plusieurs années. C’est son émission pour la télévision flamande sur les jeunes documentaristes du monde entier (Le monde de Tarantino) qui l’incite à quitter le journalisme pour le cinéma. En 2009, Maria Tarantino crée la maison de production WILDUNDOMESTICATED et commence l’aventure du long métrage documentaire Our City, qui sera achevé cinq ans plus tard.

Les vidéos d’Emma van der Put (°1988) produisent des impressions fugaces de la réalité, une friction entre mouvement et arrêts sur image. Sans structure narrative apparente, son travail récent se focalise sur les espaces publics et la confrontation entre ce qui était une conception optimiste et moderniste de l’avenir et la réalité contemporaine de Bruxelles, où elle travaille depuis 2014. Elle a étudié à l’AKV St. Joost, ‘s-Hertogenbosch (2006- 2010) et a participé à De Ateliers à Amsterdam (2010-2012). Elle a été artiste en résidence à Lokaal 01, Anvers (2014) et au WIELS, Bruxelles (2014). Parmi ses expositions récentes et projections : Mu.ZEE, Ostende (2020) ; Atelierhaus Klingental, Bâle (2019) ; A Tale of a Tub, Rotterdam (2018) et Antwerp Art Weekend (2017).